the conundrum

August 14, 2006 at 10:58 am (Uncategorized)

ok, so it’s not a major conundrum, like “why do we exist” or “how do they get so much cheese in the easy cheese can?” but it vexes me nonetheless. i am considering moving to a cubicle. that means i would willingly move out of an office i share with my lab mates, where my desk has a window and sunlight and plants that are only mostly dead. my office is just around the corner from my lab, which i’ll be spending a lot of time in over the next month and a half while i desparately try to finish up my lab work. but, if i’m down in the cubicles, i’ll be away from my boss. that is a major plus. also, it’s quiter down there and i’d have more room to spread out all my papers while i’m writing.

here’s an example of why i want to get away from my boss so much:
he walks into the office this morning, totally ignores me, no hello or anything. starts talking to the other two guys about a paper that is in the process of being revised. whatever, doesn’t involve me. but, he talks about how he needs to do a little extra on the paper- he’s going to have a guy in a totally different lab work on it. so, that guy would get on the paper. nevermind that he could teach me the technique and then have the whole lab on the paper. he’s more interested in getting as many papers out with his name on them than teaching his student how to do something so she can get a publication. have i mentioned that i hate this lab?

hm, just writing that out makes me even more determined to make the move. i’ll have to say goodbye to my view, but it distracts me a lot anyway. i’m looking forward to putting up nice colorful pictures of stuff i liked in austin (baby peacocks, flowers from the botanical gardens, etc), and being pretty much isolated from other people. so i’m just adding to my hermitic tendencies. so what?

ps- i just found out that a hermitic is also a spicy cookie…so i’m a hot cookie that doesn’t like talking to people!

-=erin=- said…

sweetie… you are amazing…you must come hang out…and celebrate once that thesis is (finally!) done… and we can science bs until the sun comes up… and scare away all of the non-sci friends that will be there… check your email, i wrote you a novel :D… *hugs*!!!

1 Comment

  1. -=erin=- said,

    sweetie… you are amazing…you must come hang out…and celebrate once that thesis is (finally!) done… and we can science bs until the sun comes up… and scare away all of the non-sci friends that will be there… check your email, i wrote you a novel :D… *hugs*!!!

Leave a Reply

