part time pet

February 25, 2007 at 5:03 pm (Uncategorized)

last tuesday, my dad and i went out to eat for a combined fat tuesday/mom’s birthday dinner. after dinner (which involved 3 different crawfish dishes, oh my goodness…), we went back to my apartment for coffee and cake. while hanging out on the balcony so dad could smoke, he heard a cat meowing- crying, really. now, there is something you should know about me: i cannot stand hearing a cat cry. kids? whatever, someone will help them out- not that i’m heartless, but cries of a baby don’t break my heart like the cries of a cat. maybe it has something to do with the fact that my parents had a cat that would sleep with me in my crib when i was a baby? anyway, the point is that i heard this cat crying and starting walking downstairs to see what was going on. halfway down, this big gray cat ran up the rest of the stairs to meet me. i petted the cat, picked him up, cuddled and then when the cat jumped out of my arms and ran off, i went back up and dad and i went back in to drink our coffee. well, we’re sitting there and we hear a cat meow- realllllly loudly. the damn cat had run all the way up to the 3rd floor and was sitting right outside the balcony door, yelling at us. i got him some tuna, but before i could give him the tuna, he ran inside and started investigating everything. long story (sorta) short, the cat totally adopted me. so, i have a part time cat who i have named tobin. he hangs out with me at night, then leaves in the morning when i go to work.

i’ve named him tobin after the main character in a series of books i was reading at the time (the tamir series by lynn flewelling, very good books!). i picked this name because i’m still not totally sure if tobin is a boy or a girl (read the books, it’ll make sense). there is a dilemma, though. i already have two cats…but they are in corpus with the boy. so i’m lonely and catless in austin, and this cat adopts me…what do i do when the boy moves back to austin with the cats? we can’t have three cats, that’s just crazy…not to mention the amount of cat poop we’d have to deal with. but tobin is so sweet. sigh…

R. Iosifovna said…

He is adorable! Keep him! I very rarely sound optimistic, but perhaps he came into your life for a reason =)

PS. I adore you and your blog!

1 Comment

  1. R. Iosifovna said,

    He is adorable! Keep him! I very rarely sound optimistic, but perhaps he came into your life for a reason =)PS. I adore you and your blog!

Leave a Reply

