"if your righteous indignation has suffered a hit"

May 26, 2007 at 8:11 pm (Uncategorized)

oh my, bloggies…i have discovered the treasure trove of 80s and 90s cartoon theme songs that have been meticulously archived on youtube…

for example:
30 minutes of 80s intros
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bto7l3cKhvk&mode=related&search=
this montage includes several cartoons i only very vaguely remember watching while waiting for other cartoons to come on, such as bravestar (“on the planet of new texas…” oh my.). some of them i think shouldn’t have been made- come on, the castaways of gilligan’s island somehow get sent to their own planet? please…though very fitting with the whole 80s cartoon general theme of people getting sent to other universes, times, etc, really…

several have been honorably labeled as “most painfully unforgettable theme songs” at http://www.cracked.com/index.php?name=News&sid=1970 – and my favorite turtles are at number one!

while my friends are out on this cool saturday evening drinking beer, watching concerts, and just generally being normal human beings, i have been reliving my childhood watching these videos. i had nearly forgotten about bucky o’hare and the dinosaucers! not to mention dangermouse (who i was for halloween when i was 4 or 5), voltron, he-man and she-ra, of course (though i didn’t know there was a ‘new adventures of he-man’ where he gets sent to future- lame!), the littles (which was based on a book, thank you very much, though i’m pretty sure no where in the book was the line “can’t stop the littles ’cause the littles won’t stop”) and the cool version of sonic the hedgehog, which had a very green-power theme to it (actually, a lot of 80s cartoons did…where is that theme now?).

it’s so obvious now to me that many of the cartoons were just 30 minute advertisements. for example, one cartoon that i don’t remember watching, the visionaries, involves magic soldier-types who have a patch on their chest armor that will reveal an animal of some sort, probably when heated up (on the toys, at least)- i remember the transformers i had having this same feature. and come on, mario brothers, zelda, and captain n, the game master? as if kids didn’t want a super nintendo enough already!

so, we can break down the 80s cartoons into several main categories: the anthropomorphic ass-kickers (e.g. teenage mutant ninja turtle, dinosaucers, swatkats, dangermouse, thundercats, chip and dale’s rescue rangers, bucky o’hare….the question becomes, who started this? i would say tmnt, but i am biased, since they were the first i watched), big ass robots that could change shape (voltron, transformers, gobots…), big muscle guys with swords (he-man, thundarr, and thundercats can fall under this category, too), and their girl-power counterparts or competition (she-ra, jem, shouldn’t there be more?) and the cutesy girl stuff that i didn’t watch but always got as presents from family that didn’t know me at all (rainbow brite, strawberry shortcake, my little pony) . you gotta think that the masses who watched these cartoons (you know, my generation) are now coming into power in many industries, and no where is this more prominent than in the movie industry. how interesting that tmnt, spiderman, transformers and the like are now major movies? not to mention the books we grew up on, such as bridge to terabithia and nancy drew.

unfortunately i don’t really have a point to this blog…other than the fact that it is super awesome to see the fabulous cartoons of my youth are still being enjoyed by the jillions of people who, like me, are super nerds and don’t have much to do in their free time… though, really, i’m happy to be such a nerd. i think most of these cartoons had good things to say (e.g. he-man and she-ra were always very polite, and each show had a moral that was discussed at the end of the show)- cartoons today seem to be more about attitude. am i old for having said that? oh well. the point is, i think it’s because of these cartoons (and the 958257694 books i read) that really made me who i am today. thank you, 80s tv…

“heathcliff, heathcliff, no one should terrorize the neighborhood…”

spacedi said…

Oh lordy! Now I know how I’m spending my Sunday…heheheheheh I love these! Also, I’m so with you on the rainbow brite and my little pony….totally had toys of those for some reason, but don’t ever remember watching them. How’d that happen?

Gabriel said…

haha, great post. I watched both youtube videos. I loved a lot of those cartoons. Today i realize almost all of them were just plain awful, yet my irrational side is still vulnerable to that dirty nostalgic appeal. I can easily spend a lot of time watching that stuff if given the chance. And it’s not that i think he-man is cool. It’s like when you fing something that smells weird and you can’t stop sniffing it. Does this make any sense?

2 Comments

  1. spacedi said,

    Oh lordy! Now I know how I’m spending my Sunday…heheheheheh I love these! Also, I’m so with you on the rainbow brite and my little pony….totally had toys of those for some reason, but don’t ever remember watching them. How’d that happen?

  2. Gabriel said,

    haha, great post. I watched both youtube videos. I loved a lot of those cartoons. Today i realize almost all of them were just plain awful, yet my irrational side is still vulnerable to that dirty nostalgic appeal. I can easily spend a lot of time watching that stuff if given the chance. And it’s not that i think he-man is cool. It’s like when you fing something that smells weird and you can’t stop sniffing it. Does this make any sense?

Leave a Reply

