a funny thing happened on the way to the -80…

July 19, 2007 at 8:08 am (Uncategorized)

so, i’m working on our -80 deep freeze at work this week. part of this involved me going back to my lab to grab a hammer, and as i passed my desk while clutching the sought after hammer, i had an serious urge to smash my little macbook… i didn’t, of course. i don’t have anything against my macbook, other than it being a mac, but the idea of just wailing on it was quite tempting. sort of like my almost overwhelming urge to jump off of really tall stuff, like balconies or mountains. maybe someday i’ll go skydiving just to get that urge out of my system, before i actually do jump off of something and break some bones.

i am in love, my bloggies. in love with a new website, http://www.bookmooch.com. this site is genius! it’s basically a worldwide book swap. go on, post books you want, and books you own but don’t want, and then let the swapping begin. i added 5 books that i don’t want any more last night, and with in 15 minutes i already had requests for two of them, with another waiting for me when i woke up this morning. this is a super fabulous way for me to purge my collection of all the books i’m now embarrassed to own, such as all of those i bought while in my vampire romance phase. sigh… what was i thinking? but, now i can get rid of those books and get new ones, basically for free (all i have to pay is shipping on the books i send away). hooray!

on a completely different note, my shoes smell. one of my favorite pairs of shoes went through hell with me last year when i had to clean out a marine carcass freezer. as the sludge on the dead turtles, dolphins and fish thawed, it of course ended up in my shoes. now, literally a year (or more) later, my shoes still smell like death and no amount of frebreezing has seemed to work. what do i do?? i admit i haven’t been super proactive about this, though i have thought about getting odereaters. i guess i keep hoping that one day, magically, the smell will just disappear.

on another random note, i love hormones. i love hormones so much that i gave up my life long dream of being a marine biologist to be a technician in a rat hormone lab. it constantly amazes me how powerful hormones are, especially the steroids. after only a month in my lab, two different girls had their cycles completely obliterated and then synched with mine. why? i’m on the pill, which means my cycle is quite rigid, but why was it so easy for their hormonal profiles to be shifted?? there’s another girl in the lab on the pill, so why is my hormonal profile stronger than hers?? steroids are amazing! additionally, i’ve been noticing that guys are much nicer to me when i’m about to ovulate (well, technically i don’t ovulate on the pill, but around the time i’m supposed to ovulate they are nicer)- evolutionarily, this makes sense. that’s the time you’re the most fertile, so that’s when guys should notice you and jump on you. so, is it the pheromones i’m giving off that make guys talk to me, or is it my perception being changed by my internal hormones that make me think they are being nicer to me? the answer is probably a little of both- that’s always the case in science. any scientist that swears by one theory alone is a nutcase or just crazy stubborn. along with the reproductive steroids, the stress steroids are really powerful, too. people get nuts when stress or sex are involved!

and speaking of stress, i really do have to find a second job. i’m thinking of looking into a coffee shop position, though so is half of austin, i’m sure, so we’ll see how that goes.

spacedi said…

Here’s an idea: I quit graduate school and make Dave quit his post-doc. We move back to Austin and all run a coffee shop instead. Then we get to smell and drink coffee, eat scones, and read books all day.

(begin crazy laughter)
hahahahahahehehehahhahahahheheheheh
(end crazy laughter)

I’m trying to learn fluid dynamics and going nuts. Hey, that’s related to coffee…I get dibs on being the crazy lady in said coffeeshop who tells customers how they are doing stirring work…Okay, (end daydream)…back to work

1 Comment

  1. spacedi said,

    Here’s an idea: I quit graduate school and make Dave quit his post-doc. We move back to Austin and all run a coffee shop instead. Then we get to smell and drink coffee, eat scones, and read books all day.(begin crazy laughter)hahahahahahehehehahhahahahheheheheh(end crazy laughter)I’m trying to learn fluid dynamics and going nuts. Hey, that’s related to coffee…I get dibs on being the crazy lady in said coffeeshop who tells customers how they are doing stirring work…Okay, (end daydream)…back to work

Leave a Reply

