rant roundup

August 10, 2007 at 9:08 pm (Uncategorized)

ok, i don’t know if these are rants so much as just a roundup of the things that are going wrong in my life, but i felt the need to write about all of them. afterall, that’s the reason i blog. it’s like a diary that i let everyone read…whatever. it works for me.

first and foremost, i think i’m loosing my grandparents. my grandmother is developing alzheimers, and it’s getting bad quickly. this is, of course, making my grandpa incredibly depressed. the other day, my grandmother called my dad, thinking he was her brother, saying that my grandpa was holding her hostage, and to call her mother (who has been dead quite a while now). fabulous. i know getting that call probably really upset my dad, too. what can you do if someone you love refuses to go to the doctor? and this is going to sound incredibly self centered, but i’m worried about, well, me. and my dad, and brother. will we have to go through alzheimers, too? my plan has always to go out in a blaze of glory in my youth (haha), but what will i do if my dad gets it? and if i do, will i want treatment? maybe living wills should include something about treatments for mental disorders.

speaking of disorders, my ovary hurts. a lot. A LOT. if you don’t remember (or, if i never blogged about it), back in september i had to get a cat scan to figure out what was going on with my guts, which were seriously rebelling against grad school. the cat scan showed that i had mesenteric adenitis (just an inflammation of my lymph glands around my intestines)…but, the cat scan also showed i had ovarian cysts on my left ovary. i never did anything about it, because i was really relieved that my guts were still working, and because i’ve always had this bad habit of ignoring problems i don’t want to deal with. well, now my ovary really hurts. what if it’s not a cyst? what if it’s cancer, or something crazy, like a tubal pregnancy or something??? well, i’m finally going to the doctor about it, so we’ll just see what it really is……….but what if they have to take out my ovaries? i’ve never had serious plans to have kids, but what if i decide to later? i’ve never been totally opposed to having kids, i’ve just not made the crazy extensive plans to have them that my other, more girly friends have. so, i’d like to still have the option. and no pain in my ovary. and cake that i can eat, also.

and, of course, it is only the 10th of the month and i’ve already seriously overdrawn my bank account. how does this keep happening?? i’m a freakin’ college graduate, aren’t i supposed to be making big bucks? oh, wait, i’m in biology, and refuse to work in the private sector, ’cause working for academia is more fun. poop.

and, finally (though there are probably more issues that i just can’t think of right now), my apartment has sprung a leak. as i walked into my kitchen i noticed that my carpet was wet- ok, so i spilled something, or maybe the cat puked or something. gross, but acceptable. yeah, neither was right. apparently something backed up or something, and a pipe was leaking under my carpet. and wouldn’t stop. i soaked 3 freaking bath towels! fortunately the water doesn’t smell like anything except maybe soap. i called maintanance, at 9:30pm on a friday night…and got a real person! the dude called me “miss megan” and will come fix everything tomorrow morning. i love this apartment complex! even if it is in a neighborhood where people cruise around looking for hookers.

my ovary hurts!

ida said:

Miss Megan!

Life is life. Old people get sick. Young people get sick.

Besides, living in a town where “people cruise around for hookers” is not half bad! Potential employment! Kidding. 🙂

Have a cookie and ice cream! Cheer up, buttercup!

Lily said…

whoa, megan…that super sucks. like super super duper sucks. there’s nothing like losing grandparents…especially after losing a parent. and might i also mention that oddly enough my grandma has alzheimer’s disease too. we didn’t realize how bad it was until she got run over by a car while crossing the street to buy teddy grahams. 😦 how sad is that? that was 2 months before my mom died. now she’s in a nursing home, which is really depressing. so i say we should add this as a requirement for our “club” membership. 1. dead mom 2. relative, grandma preferably, with alzheimer’s disease…i wonder what other great things we can add. i say great in jest, of course. :-/
-Lily

2 Comments

  1. R. Iosifovna said,

    Miss Megan!Life is life. Old people get sick. Young people get sick. Besides, living in a town where “people cruise around for hookers” is not half bad! Potential employment! Kidding. :)Have a cookie and ice cream! Cheer up, buttercup!

  2. Lily said,

    whoa, megan…that super sucks. like super super duper sucks. there’s nothing like losing grandparents…especially after losing a parent. and might i also mention that oddly enough my grandma has alzheimer’s disease too. we didn’t realize how bad it was until she got run over by a car while crossing the street to buy teddy grahams. 😦 how sad is that? that was 2 months before my mom died. now she’s in a nursing home, which is really depressing. so i say we should add this as a requirement for our “club” membership. 1. dead mom 2. relative, grandma preferably, with alzheimer’s disease…i wonder what other great things we can add. i say great in jest, of course. :-/-Lily

Leave a Reply

