sometimes i wonder…

December 8, 2008 at 2:01 pm (jinxing myself, life in general, rants, thoughts and musings, um...)

While walking to work this morning I decided to cut through the museum part of campus rather than going by the law school or being super lazy and taking an extra bus. Very good choice on my part- I got to see random art and the dinosaur tracks that have been on display since I was a little kid. On the way, though, I started to wonder: do I have boogers on my face? ‘Cause I walked by two different people who just gave me crazy stares when I said hello. One was a pretty cute music professor, the other was just a mean old man (or at least that’s how I remember him). Both just stared at my face as they walked by; the cute one had a bemused look, while the old guy just looked mean and angry. So I reiterate: did I have boogers on my face? That’s the only explanation I can think of. That or it was just sorta early in the morning on a day when no one really should’ve been on campus. That’s right, it’s finals time! Or rather, the days before finals when there are no classes, just lots of illegal review sessions (technically you’re not supposed to have any during this time, but everyone does anyway). I wonder if the two people thought I was a student who should’ve been hiding in a library somewhere, studying? People ask me all the time if I’m a student. Is it ’cause I look young? Or maybe because I take the bus? Or is that just the safe thing to ask people? ‘Cause let me tell you, I am not student age any more. 27, people! I’m supposed to have a real job and goals and a house and some kids and stuff by now. HA! That’s me, always disrupting people’s preconceived notions of what I’m “supposed” to be…

****

The weather in Austin is all poopy and Texas-y. We have a saying, “if you don’t like the weather, just wait a minute!” meaning that the weather goes all schitzo in the winter and refuses to say the same for more than two days at a time. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not a fan of cold and I’m super happy it rarely ever snows here. But it’s freakin’ December, people. The highs should no longer be in the upper 70s. I’m tired of having to seriously debate in the morning if it is worth putting on socks or not. Also, we have all these omnious clouds rolling over head all the time, but no rain. LAME!

****

I have a phone interview on Wednesday with the head of my old department…I’m pretty sure he hates me so I don’t really know how this will go. Ok, so I totally know how it will go. He hates me so he’ll ask me lots of “you’re so stupid” questions then decided randomly that I can’t work for the department. Whatever. I’m also pretty sure I didn’t get this other super awesome job that would’ve let me travel around the world, imparting scientific knowledge on people. Of course, they won’t tell me how much they aren’t going to hire me until they “finish interviewing” which I think is unnecessarily cruel. Jerks. I should know by next Friday, bleh.

****

Alright, mini rant time. I am tired of making crafts for people who do not appreciate them. Worse, I’m tired of being around people who just expect me to make them things. The people at work who just bust out with “Hey, where’s my (random awesomely crafted thing by meg)” or “You better be working on my (crafty thing)” make me want to stop crafting forever. Not to mention the person who said “I want to learn how to make jewelry like you, but I want mine to look professional.” Well, no more crafty goodies for you, jerk. I gotta go craft some awesome things for people who like them to make myself feel better…

1 Comment

  1. E said,

    Jerks! All your stuff rules.

    Trying to survive finals, probably failed one today, but so did the rest of the class.

    :sigh:
    One more week and I will be in Austin.

Leave a Reply

