Snapshots of my soul

January 7, 2009 at 10:13 pm (about books, blog-a-day!, just pure awesome, life in general)

This blogging every day thing is hard! I’m not witty or interesting everyday! So, today I am cheating. So many people (2) commented on the bookshelves in the background of a recent Kiwi picture that I’ve decided to share my bookshelves with the world. I love looking at people’s bookshelves. I don’t trust people who don’t have any bookcases, or those people who hide their books. Have you seen those beds with storage underneath specifically for books? That bothers me. One time the boy suggested we take some of my books to Half Price and I nearly left him. Seriously. Once as a kid my brother threw a book at me and I was so mortified that he would do such a thing to a book that I didn’t even tattle on him. Not right away, anyway. The only thing that saddens me about using an ebook reader (oh so sexy…) is that I feel like now my bookshelves are being neglected. However, it will make it a bit easier to move!

Without (much) further ado, here are my most prominent bookcases. I was going to clean them up for this but then decided that would be dishonest- my shelves basically always look like this. If you click on the pictures they link to my Flickr pictures, which have details and tags, as well as some more pictures.

The fiction shelves:

3175390937_6808788e1f_b

The (mostly) nonfiction shelves:
3176230224_431c660587_b

I also have an impromptu “bookshelf” in the closet from textbook overflow when I wanted to claim a little bookshelf for crafting supplies:
img_0289

The boy’s bookshelf (I’m trying to get him to read more books-damn I think it’s sexy when boys read. He occasionally surprises me and says “Hey, I’m reading this random book I pulled this book off your shelf” but there’s never any rhyme or reason to why he picks a book):
3176302720_ef5ff04ca9_b

Now picture me exhaling a sigh of bliss….

Leave a Reply

