February 2, 2009 at 11:53 am (Uncategorized)

You should all know how this works by now…

Once you’ve been tagged, you are supposed to write a note with 25 random things, facts, habits, or goals about you. At the end, choose 25 people to be tagged. You have to tag the person who tagged you. If I tagged you, it’s because I want to know more about you.

(To do this, go to “notes” under tabs on your profile page, paste these instructions in the body of the note, type your 25 random things, tag 25 people (in the right hand corner of the app) then click publish.)

I tried to think of 25 things no ones knows yet, we’ll see how it all goes over…

1. I can’t taste garlic. I know stuff tastes better with garlic in it, but I can’t specifically taste it. I am a freak and I have accepted this and moved on with my life.

2. My parents had a cat when I was a baby that would, much to their annoyance, sleep in my crib with me, and even groom me like a kitten. Now I’m pretty sure I understand cats better than people.

3. I didn’t get my drivers license until I was 23. In high school when everyone was going to driving school I was crazy obsessed with saving for college, so I just never bothered learning to drive. I hear it is what all the cool kids are doing these days.

4. After at least 20 years of schooling, I don’t have the traditional dream about having forgotten to go to class, but instead I continue to have dreams that I’m late for a band or symphony concert, or that I get on stage and don’t have my mouth piece, even though I haven’t played my bass clarinet in any kind of social setting in almost ten years. I never dream about playing my guitar.

5. I am obsessively in love with embroidering crazy stuff on normal stuff. I am currently planning what to put on my lab coat- flames perhaps?

6. I have a crazy compulsion to tell people who have touched my life in a positive way that they are my heroes. Most think I’m nuts but occasionally there’s that one hero who is amazed I remembered them at all and appreciates it.

7. I am the girl who will still point out frogs and bugs and other awesome things to any one or no one who is around. You know, like kids do. But how could you not be as excited about these things as me?!?

8. Ever since my mom died, my dad and I have talked on the phone almost every night.

9. I love making things with my hands but I suck at knitting.

10. I hate genres and labels, I think they lead to bias. I like music, art, food, books, etc.

11. One of my favorite things to do is reorganize my bookshelves. It lets me see what I haven’t read yet or what I need to read again, or what I need to recommend to friends.

12. I have a nearly overwhelming urge to jump off stuff every time I am on balconies, scenic overlooks, tall buildings, etc. This used to freak out my roommate.

13. People who don’t know me and my fiance always think we’ve only been together for just a short while, I guess because we’re still in the silly stage of our relationship. We’ve actually been together for 10 years and known each other for 13.

14. I not-so-secretly want to have a costume wedding where my dress is a modified She-ra outfit. (People, please remember He-man was her brother, so no, Justin would not be dressed up as him. Maybe as a Ninja Turtle or Thundercat, though. He doesn’t know that yet.)

15. I oscillate between ideas of going back to school for my PhD and being a tech forever. On the one hand, I’d love to be in a lab where I’d have more intellectual input. On the other, I like being able to read books.

16. I still watch cartoons, but only really weird ones like The Drinky Crow Show, Chowder and The Misadventure of Flapjack. Awesome.

17. I still remember the moment I decided I wanted to study marine biology. I was in 5th grade and we were watching the Voyage of the Mimi. I was thinking about how I had planned to be a paleontologist, but that would only deal with dead stuff. Whales, though, were big like dinosaurs and alive. The switch was made! So now that I’m not a marine biologist any more I blame it on Ben Affleck, who was the kid in Voyage of the Mimi.

18. My last semester of college I took a geology class that was a survey of vertebrate skeletons. After the first day or so I realized I really wished I’d stuck with paleontology because that stuff is AWESOME. Damn you, Ben Affleck!

19. I don’t remember the moment I decided to study hormones but it was somewhere between working with my one of undergrad mentors in Port A on stingrays and taking an endocrinology class with my other undergrad mentor who I eventually did field work with. Now I can’t imagine working in any lab that doesn’t do hormones.

20. One of my cats enjoys walking on a leash. And by “walking” I mean she likes hanging out on her leash with me while I read a book.

Leave a Reply

