insults and injuries

April 15, 2009 at 11:13 am (rants)

There are days when I worry that I won’t be able to leave my lab when the time comes, because I’m so invested in so many of the experiments, and going to be published on at least three more papers, and I just feel like my leaving will disrupt the already fragile ecosystem that is in place here, not to mention pontentially bankrupt the budget when they pay out all my built up comp and vacation time.

Then there are days like today, when people around me assume I know nothing about the experiment I have been developing for over a year, when they haven’t been involved in it at all. They dismiss everything that I have been working very hard on and assume they know everything. They don’t bother asking me about it or discussing what could be developed further (which I love to do, by the way, I’m not a big stubborn jerk about that sort of thing), they actually just totally go around me and assume they have to start from scratch. My work has been for naught, apparently. So, if I leave, it’ll be ok! No one needs me now anyway!

Awesome. I’m writing my resignation letter.

Rant over. Otherwise I’m totally hanging in there, everybody, thanks for the nice comments. I should get my test score today, by Friday at the latest, so I’ll let you know how that turns out…

2 Comments

  1. Kurt said,

    2 words. Rat Vagina.

  2. Steam Me Up, Kid said,

    Keep us posted!!

Leave a Reply

